Houston DWI Lawyer
Facing DWI Charges in Houston, TX? Let Our Firm Fight for You!
Getting arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) is the first time many people encounter the criminal justice system. Due to the complexities of the legal process, you could be sentenced to the maximum criminal penalties without the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney by your side.
Is a Lawyer Necessary for a DWI?
Attempting to go to court without any legal counsel is a huge gamble and perhaps a big mistake. However, hiring a DWI lawyer can protect your rights, and work hard to prepare your defense strategy.
If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving in Texas, do not hesitate to let Holt Law protect your rights and future. Our Houston DWI lawyer understands that people facing DWI charges are not criminals and knows what it takes to convince the court to reduce your penalties or get your entire case dismissed.
DWI Laws & Penalties in Texas
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least .08 percent—or .04 percent for commercial license holders (CDLs) or .02 percent for bus drivers and motorists under 21 years old—you can be charged with a DWI. Additionally, you could face DWI charges for driving or being in physical control of an automobile while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both substances.
The following are the potential criminal penalties for a DWI conviction in Texas:
First DWI: Punishable by a jail sentence ranging from 3 days to 180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, driver's license suspension for up to 2 years, mandatory attendance at an alcohol education program, and possible installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).
Second DWI: Punishable by a jail sentence ranging from 30 days to 1 year, a fine of up to $4,000, driver's license suspension for up to 2 years, mandatory attendance at an alcohol education program,and possible installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).
Third DWI (Third-Degree Felony): Punishable by a prison sentence ranging from 2 to 10 years, fine of up to $10,000, driver's license suspension for up to 2 years, mandatory attendance at an alcohol education program, possible installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), potential impoundment of the offender's vehicle, and a permanent felony record.
DWI With a Minor Passenger in the Vehicle
When a person is arrested for DWI while having a minor passenger in the vehicle, it is considered a first-degree misdemeanor. A first-time offense is punishable by a maximum jail term of five years, fines worth at least $1,000, and driver’s license for up to 18 months.
Contact Our DWI Attorney in Houston Today
A conviction not only results in harsh criminal penalties like jail time, driver’s license suspension, and fines but also a criminal record that could haunt you forever. Our Houston DWI defense lawyer at Holt Law is dedicated to helping you avoid these penalties and get your life back on the right track.
Contact Holt Law today to schedule a free consultation with our DWI attorney in Houston.
Work Directly with Attorney Aaron Holt
Strong Principles of Honesty & Integrity
Will Fight Hard for Your Rights
Free Initial Consultation
Thank you for everything you have done.- Michael
He exceeded our expectations. We won :-)- Jamie
He is my go-to guy.- Jason
Helped me keep my job and stay on the right track.- Kelby
I personally believe he's the real deal.- Salia