Harrisburg DUI Attorney
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation Today
Getting arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) is the first time many people in Pennsylvania experiencing the criminal justice system. Due to the complexities of the legal process, you could be sentenced to the maximum criminal penalties without the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney by your side.
Do I Need a Lawyer for DUI in PA?
Although Pennsylvania does not require that you hire a DUI attorney, it'd be foolish not to. Attempting to go to court without any legal counsel is a huge gamble and perhaps a big mistake. However, hiring a DUI can protect your rights and work hard to prepare your defense strategy.
If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving in Central Pennsylvania, do not hesitate to let Holt Law protect your rights and future. Our Harrisburg DUI lawyer understands that people facing DUI charges are not criminals and knows what it takes to convince the court to reduce your penalties or get your entire case dismissed.
Pennsylvania DUI Laws & Penalties
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least .08 percent—or .04 percent for commercial license holders (CDLs) or .02 percent for bus drivers and motorists under 21 years old—you can be charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania. Additionally, you could face DUI charges for driving or being in physical control of an automobile while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both substances.
The penalties for a DUI conviction are based on the following three categories:
- General impairment DUIs – DUI based on a BAC of between .08 percent and less than .1 percent or impairment. A first-time offense is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail or probation sentence of six months and fines of up to $300.
- High rate DUIs – DUIs based on a BAC of between .1 percent and less than .16 percent or impairment DUIs with injury or death. A first-time offense is still a misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of six months (with a minimum term of 48 hours), fines of up to $5,000, and driver’s license suspension for no more than 12 months.
- Highest rate DUIs – DUIs based on a BAC of at least .16 percent or controlled substances or impairment DUIs that involve chemical test refusal. A first-time offense is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail term of six months (with a minimum sentence of 72 hours), fines of up to $5,000, and driver’s license suspension for up to 12 months.
When a person is arrested for DUI while having a minor passenger in the vehicle, it is considered a first-degree misdemeanor. A first-time offense is punishable by a maximum jail term of five years, fines worth at least $1,000, and driver’s license for up to 18 months.
Ready to Protect Your Rights & Freedom Today
A conviction not only results in harsh criminal penalties like jail time, driver’s license suspension, and fines, but also a criminal record that could haunt you forever. Our Harrisburg DUI defense lawyer is dedicated to helping you avoid these penalties and get your life back on the right track.
Work Directly with Attorney Aaron Holt
Strong Principles of Honesty & Integrity
Will Fight Hard for Your Rights
Free Initial Consultation
Thank you for everything you have done.- Michael
He exceeded our expectations. We won :-)- Jamie
He is my go-to guy.- Jason
Helped me keep my job and stay on the right track.- Kelby
I personally believe he's the real deal.- Salia