Harrisburg PA Assault Defense Attorney
Get Effective & Affordable Legal Representation Today
Generally, an assault is defined as an attempt or a threat to injure a person. Often, when our clients are charged with an assault crime, they are also charged with recklessly endangering another person (REAP) or possession of an instrument of crime (PIC). In Pennsylvania, there is no distinction under the law between assault and battery.
If you have been arrested and charged with the crimes of assault, aggravated assault, or simple assault, our Harrisburg assault defense attorney at Holt Law will protect your rights and freedom against these charges. Whether this is your first offense aggravated assault in PA or not, we can handle your case. Regardless of the charges, our firm can defend your case.
Should I Get A Lawyer For An Assault Charge?
If you are charged with simple assault, you must contact an attorney immediately to discuss your options. An assault defense attorney will recognize prosecution policies in the Harrisburg courts and with sentencing and diversion programs that may be offered to you. If this is your first offense aggravated assault in PA, we will walk you through the process with compassion.
Pennsylvania Assault Laws & Penalties
In Pennsylvania, there are two main types of assault: simple assault and aggravated assault. While simple assaults are typically charged as misdemeanors, aggravated assaults are felonies.
Simple assault means knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly causing bodily injury (e.g. bruises, cuts, or scratches) to someone else, trying to do so, or placing another person in fear of imminent harm (i.e. using physical menace). It is also considered simple assault when you negligently cause bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon.
Simple assault is a second-degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of two years and a fine of no more than $5,000. However, if simple assault is inflicted by an adult who is at least 21 years of age on a minor who is under 12 years old, it is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to five years and a maximum fine of $10,000. If simple assault occurs in the middle of a fight, it is a third-degree misdemeanor, which results in a maximum jail term of one year and a fine of no more than $2,500.
On the other hand, aggravated assault means knowingly or recklessly inflicting serious bodily injury on someone else, trying to do so, assaulting another person with a deadly weapon, and committing assault against a public official (e.g. police officers, firefighters, judges, district attorneys, public defenders, teachers, government employees, etc.). Serious bodily injury is defined as serious impairment, permanent loss of a body function or organ, disfigurement, or otherwise an injury that creates a significant risk of death. If you're facing a first offense aggravated assault in PA, schedule a free consultation today.
Aggravated assault that results in serious bodily injury or attempts to do so is a first-degree felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of 20 years and a fine not exceeding $25,000. Aggravated assault that doesn’t involve serious injury is a second-degree felony, punishable by a prison term of up to 10 years and a maximum fine of $25,000.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Attorney Aaron Holt provides high-quality and personalized legal solutions to either get your entire case dismissed, obtain a not-guilty verdict, or get your charges/penalties reduced to avoid imprisonment. Do not hesitate to learn about our effective and affordable legal representation.
For more information about our law firm, contact us today.
Work Directly with Attorney Aaron Holt
Strong Principles of Honesty & Integrity
Will Fight Hard for Your Rights
Free Initial Consultation
Thank you for everything you have done.- Michael
He exceeded our expectations. We won :-)- Jamie
He is my go-to guy.- Jason
Helped me keep my job and stay on the right track.- Kelby
I personally believe he's the real deal.- Salia